Argentina announce their 30-man World Cup Squad


Sabella and his captain Lionel Messi

Alejandro Sabella has announced the names of the 30 players that have been included in his preliminary World Cup Squad. As expected it is not exactly full of surprises and Sabella has proved that he will not be swayed by outside opinion. So there is no place for Carlos Tevez (obviously) and there is a place for former Wigan striker, Franco Di Santo, as hinted in my preview yesterday (anyway he won’t be in the final 23 so calm down!). Perhaps the mildest of surprises were the inclusions of Martín Demichelis, River Plate’s, Gabriel Mercado and midfielder, Fabián Rinaudo. Anyway, it is a PRELIMINARY squad and I think Sabella is more than aware of his 23 so let’s not go too crazy over these 30. SEE THE FULL LIST…..

Sergio Romero (Monaco)
Mariano Andújar (Catania)
Agustín Orión (Boca Juniors)

Ezequiel Garay (Benfica)
Federico Fernández (Napoli)
Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City)
Marcos Rojo (Sporting)
José María Basanta (Monterrey)
Hugo Campagnaro (Internazionale)
Nicolás Otamendi (Atlético Miniero)
Lisandro López (Getafe)
Martín Demichelis (Manchester City)
Gabriel Mercado (River Plate)

Javier Mascherano (Barcelona)
Fernando Gago (Boca Juniors)
Javier Mascherano (Barcelona)

Lucas Biglia (Lazio)
Éver Banega (Newell’s Old Boys)
Maximiliano Rodríguez (Newell’s Old Boys)
Ricky Álvarez (Internazionale)

Augusto Fernández (Celta de Vigo)
Enzo Pérez (Benfica)
José Sosa (Atlético de Madrid)
Fabián Rinaudo (Catania)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Sergio Agüero (Manchester City)
Gonzalo Higuaín (Napoli)
Ezequiel Lavezzi (Paris Saint-Germain)
Rodrigo Palacio (Internazionale)
Franco Di Santo (Werder Bremen)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.