Argentinos Juniors

ArgJrs                                    estadio-diego-armando-maradona


Formed in 1904, the club was originally called the ‘Martyrs of Chicago’ in homage to 8 anarchists who were either imprisoned or hanged following the Haymarket Riot in 1886. Shortly after, Argentinos Juniors made the move to the neighbourhood of La Paternal and are recognisable as the club that exists today.
Argentinos Juniors are renowned for their famed youth academy or ‘El Semillero’, most notably as it gave birth of Argentina’s most famous footballer/person, Diego Maradona. Maradona made his debut in 1976 at the age of 15, a league record, broken years later by Sergio Aguero. His rise to prominence was meteoric and despite not winning any titles with Argentinos his sale to Boca Juniors in 1981 funded the side that would go on to have so much success.
In 1984, Argentinos won the championship on the final day of the season and a year later they claimed the biggest prize in South American football when they defeated America de Cali of Colombia in the Final of the Copa Libertadores. This was undoubtedly the pinnacle of the club’s long history and shortly after Argentinos went into decline.
Relegation followed and then a return to the top flight but relegation remained a threat. In 2010, survival was the target but Argentinos rolled back the years and won their first title in 25 years with a win on the final day against Huracan.

Founded – 1904
Stadium – Estadio Diego Armando Maradona
Capacity – 24,800
Address – Gavilán 2151, Buenos Aires
Manager – Ricardo Caruso Lombardi

Honours – Primera Division (1984, 1985, 2010)
Copa Libertadores (1985)
Copa Interamericana (1985)


Current Squad

1  ARG GK Luis Ojeda
2  ARG DF Miguel Torrén
3  ARG DF Matías Martínez
4  ARG DF Pablo Barzola
5  ARG MF Gaspar Iñíguez
6  ARG DF Aníbal Matellán
7  ARG MF Alejandro Capurro
8  ARG MF Pablo Hernández
9  ARG FW Leandro Barrera
10  ARG FW Leonel Núñez
11  ARG FW Leandro Caruso
12  ARG GK Sebastián Giovini
13  ARG DF Diego Placente
15  ARG DF Ariel Garcé
16  ARG DF Julio Barraza
17  ARG FW Daniel Villalva
18  ARG MF Santiago Nagüel
19  ARG FW Marcos Figueroa
20  ARG GK Nereo Fernández
21  ARG DF Nicolás Batista
22  PER FW José Carlos Férnandez
23  ARG DF Nicolás Freire
24  ARG MF Juan Edgardo Ramírez
25  ARG MF Sebastián Navarro
26  ARG MF Fabio Vázquez
27  ARG DF Franco Flores
28  ARG GK Matías Rossi
29  ECU FW Juan Luis Anangonó
30  ARG DF Lucas Rodríguez
31  ARG DF Federico Pistone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.