Boca Juniors

boca                                        bombonera


One of the most decorated sides in world football, Boca Juniors influence looms over Argentinian football. Boca was formed by Italian immigrants in 1905. They had been coached by Irish immigrant, Paddy McCarthy, a local boxer, living in the working class Buenos Aires neighbourhood of La Boca and the club was born.
Rapidly Boca grew into the title winning Goliath that is still apparent today. 6 titles were won during the amateur era before 1931 but it was after this, when the game went professional that Boca really excelled. 30 Primera Division titles in total, 6 Copa Libertadores,  4 Recopa Sudamericana, three Intercontinental Cups, 2 Copa Sudamericanas, 1 Copa Oro, 1 Supercopa Sudamericana, 1 Supercopa Masters, one Tie Cup and one Copa de Honor Cousenier. An international record of 18 titles shared with AC Milan shows Boca’s relevance to football in general, not just Argentina.
There are too many great players to list all those that have worn the famous blue and gold of Boca but the club’s leading scorer is Martin Palermo, who netted 236 before his retirement in 2011.
Obviously the great rivalry is with River Plate and the super clasico between the 2 sides is one of the greatest sporting occasions. The rivalry is born out of the fact that both sides originate from La Boca before River moved to the wealthy neighbourhood of  Núñez in 1923. Both clubs dominate football in Argentina and the super clasico is a major event every season.

Founded – 1905
Stadium – Estadio Alberto J. Armando (La Bombonera)
Capacity – 49,000
Address – Brandsen 805, Buenos Aires
Manager – Carlos Bianchi


Primera Division – 1919, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1930, 1931, 1934, 1935, 1940, 1943, 1944, 1954, 1962, 1964, 1965, 1969, 1970, 1976 Nacional, 1981 Metropolitano, 1992 Apertura, 1998 Apertura, 1999 Clausura, 2000 Apertura, 2003 Apertura, 2005 Apertura, 2006 Clausura, 2008 Apertura, 2011 Apertura
Copa Argentina – 1969, 2012
Copa Libertadores – 1977, 1978, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007
Copa Sudamericana – 2004, 2005
Intercontinental Cup – 1977, 2000, 2003


Current Squad

1  ARG GK Agustín Orión
2  ARG DF Daniel Díaz
3  ARG DF Emanuel Insúa
4  ARG DF Leandro Marín
5  ARG MF Fernando Gago
6  ARG DF Guillermo Burdisso
7  ARG FW Juan Manuel Martínez
8  ARG MF Pablo Ledesma
9  ARG FW Nicolás Blandi
10  ARG MF Juan Román Riquelme
11  ARG MF Juan Sánchez Miño
12  ARG GK Emanuel Trípodi
13  ARG DF Nahuel Zárate
14  ARG DF Claudio Pérez
15  ARG DF Matías Caruzzo
16  ARG MF Gonzalo Escalante
17  ARG FW Franco Cángele
18  ARG FW Emanuel Gigliotti
19  ARG MF Jesús Méndez
20  ARG MF Leandro Paredes
21  ARG MF Cristian Erbes
22  URU MF Ribair Rodríguez
23  ARG GK Sebastián D’Angelo
24  ARG DF Alan Aguirre
25  ARG FW Claudio Riaño
26  ARG MF Diego Rivero
27  ARG MF Federico Bravo
28  ARG FW Francisco Di Franco
29  ARG FW Joel Acosta

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.